Fall down nine times…

…get up ten.*

Here’s the skinny: I was pretty fat, found martial arts and got thinner, then got injured and got fat again.  I am back on the mat now (taking it slow), but wanted to do something to kick start my weight loss, so I joined a 30-day nutrition/weight loss challenge at my gym.

The nutrition component is Paleo.  If you don’t know what that is, it’s that thing where you eat like a caveman, if a caveman could shop at Whole Foods.  I’m biased against it to start with, but I decided I can try just about anything for 30 days (except Clown College. that’s a non-starter). The nature of my bias will be explained in a future post.  The exercise component is a stripped down version of Crossfit, 3-5 times per week.

Today was Day 1 for eating.  I’ll try my first workout tomorrow.  I’m not a stranger to exercise, or hard physical activity, but I am a bit nervous, due to Crossfit’s extreme reputation.

Anyway, here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: Fritata (egg, sausage, peppers, zucchini)

Lunch: Chili (beef, carrots, onion, celery, peppers, tomatoes, tomato sauce)

Dinner: Chicken (lemon/garlic, herbs), spinach (sauteed with garlic), broccoli (steamed)

This was supposed to be a short intro post.  More tomorrow.

*That’s the saying that inspired this blog.  The Internet attributes this to Jon Bon Jovi, which just can’t be right.  But as a practicing martial artist, it’s the definition of “success” that matches most closely with my own experience.

Fall down nine times…

Leave a Reply

